Past Awards

Click on the awards to expand.

Awarded to a member of a NAP Academy who has demonstrated outstanding or extraordinary contributions to interprofessional health care.

2016 - John Herbold, DVM
2015 - Madeline Schmitt, PhD, RN, FAAN
2014 - Allen Du Mont, LCSW, BCD
2014 - Karen Anne Wolf, PhD, ANP-BC
2012 – Elizabeth A. Rider, MSW, MD
2011 - Marie Chisholm-Burns, PharmD, MPH
2010 - Adele Webb, PhD, RN
2009 – Marie DiCowden, PhD
2007 - Carlton V. Horbelt, DDS, FADPD, FACD
2006 - Joellen W. Hawkins, RN, PhD
2004 - Chet Evans, MS, DPM
2002 - Judith Lewis, PhD, RN
2000 - Arol Augsburger, OD
1999 - Nicholas Cummings, PhD

Given annually to groups who have made enduring contributions to interdisciplinary practice and education.
2015 - Interdisciplinary Shared Clinical Experiences (ISCE) Team, Johns Hopkins University Schools of Nursing, Medicine and Pastoral Care and Notre Dame of Maryland University School of Pharmacy
2013 - Children’s Emotional HealthLink (CEHL), Newton-Wellesley Hospital, Newton, MA
2012 - The Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC), University of New England
2011 – Pathways into Health, a grassroots collaboration of organizations and individuals dedicated to improving the health, health care, and health care education of American Indians and Alaska Natives (AI/AN) in the US.
2010 – The Clinical Practice Model Resource Center (CPMRC)
2009 - Association for Prevention Teaching and Research
2004 - American Academy of Wound Management, Washington, DC
2003 - Kentucky Interdisciplinary Community Screening Program
2002 - Primary Care Fellowship Program (HRSA)
2000 - East Carolina University Interdisciplinary Education program

Established by the NAP Council to recognize and encourage interdisciplinary team programs/projects/models which focus on the improvement of health care, this award is given periodically.

2014 - David Itzkoff, DDS 2012 - Mary Wakefield, PhD, RN
2011 – George Thibault, MD 2010 – Adele Webb, PhD
2009 - Carolyn Messner, DSW, MSW 2007 - Center for Health Interprofessional Programs and the CLARION Competition, University of Minnesota
2006 - Neuro-Optometric Rehabilitation Organization
2004 - Craig M. Lilly, MD 2003 - Gloria D. Heinemann, PhD & Antonette M. Zeiss, PhD
2002 - Association of Academic Health Centers, Washington, DC
2000 - Pascal Imperato, MD
1999 - Madeline Schmitt, PhD, RN
1998 – Dewitt C. Baldwin, MD

2010 – Edward M. Kennedy (post.)
2006 - Congressman Ted Strickland, Ohio
2003 - State Senator Angela Z. Monson, Oklahoma
2000 - Congressman Charles Norwood, DDS, Washington, DC
1996 – Senator Nancy L. Kassebaum
1990 - C. Everett Koop, MD, former U.S. Surgeon General Senator Jay Rockefeller Representative Claude Pepper

This award is given to a National Academies of Practice Optometry Academy member who has demonstrated exemplary contributions to the profession of optometry and healthcare field and has upheld the mission of the National Academy of Practice to advance science and the concept of interdisciplinary healthcare.

2016 - Richard E. Weisbarth, OD, FAAO
2015 - Thomas L. Lewis, OD, PhD
2014 - Melvin D. Shipp, OD, MPH, DrPH
2013 - Satya B. Verma, OD, FAAO, Diplomate
2012 - Gerald E. Lowther, OD, PhD
2011 - Lester Caplan, OD, MEd 2010 – Ron Fair, OD

Search NAP